Make a Difference

Marico Innovation Foundation

Marico Innovation Foundation (MIF) was formed in 2003 with the objective of fueling innovation in India. MIF is the catalyst that creates an innovation ecosystem through cutting-edge research, knowledge creation & dissemination – to scale up breakthrough innovations.

The Foundation has worked in several areas to fuel innovation in India in the past 10 years. Its research efforts yielded a best seller publication - "Making Breakthrough Innovation Happen: 11 Indians who pulled off the impossible". About 55000 copies have been sold so far, making this India's First best seller on innovation.


The Foundation instituted the ‘Innovation for India Awards’ in 2006 which are declared biennially. This platform recognizes breakthrough Indian innovations that have positively influenced lives. The tally of award-winning innovators till now is now 41.

Its The Foundation’s Social Innovation Acceleration programme launched in 2011 provides customized capacity building, strategic advisory support and acceleration facilitation over a 12–18 month period;, for organisations working on innovative social enterprise models and seeking to scale the impact of their work. The Foundation, through its sustained efforts has successfully accelerated five Social Enterprise Projects over the last two years - Yuva Parivartan and Waste Wise Trust in 2011 and Akshay Patra’s (model : hub-and-spoke kitchen system), Fractal Microspin’s (model : Product to business model transformation) & and Yuva Parivartan (model : Employment Exchange for rural school dropout youth) in 2012.

The Foundation has also recently launched a quarterly magazine “Innowin”- India’s first publication dedicated to innovation that continuously generates and disseminates knowledge on Innovationinnovation in India.

Governing Council

The Marico Innovation Foundation is steered by an eminent governing council that oversees both its vision and direction.

The Council is chaired by Dr R A Mashelkar, National Research Professor, NCL., The other visionaries that are an integral part of the council include Anu Aga, Director, Thermax;, Sam Balsara, Chairman & Managing Director, Madison World,; Kishore Biyani, Founder and Group CEO, Future Group;, Ashwin Dani, Vice Chairman & Managing Director, Asian Paints,; Dr Naushad Forbes, Director, Forbes Marshall Pvt. Ltd;, R Gopalakrishnan, Executive Director, Tata Sons,; Ranjan Kapur, Country Manager - India, WPP;, Harsh Mariwala, Chairman & Managing Director, Marico;, K V Mariwala, Chairman, HPFL,; Prof Sujata Ramdorai, Dorab Sopariwala, Consultant and Ravi Venkatesan, Independent Director, Infosys,.

Visit for further information.

  • Disclaimer
  • © 2014 Copyright Marico All Rights Reserved